MURG Key Contacts


MURG Main Representatives

(by alphabetical order of institution)

These people are the main MURG representatives for each of MURG’s 44 member universities:

Caroline Strange, Assistant Director, Research Support. Anglia Ruskin University


Carsten Maple, Pro-Vice Chancellor (Research and Enterprise), and professor of Applicable Computing. University of Bedfordshire


Keith Osman, Director of Research, Birmingham City University


Elias Siores, Director of Research, University of Bolton


Professor Matthew Bennett, Pro Vice Chancellor, Bournemouth University


John Boylan, Academic Dean, Faculty of Design, Media & Management, Bucks New University


Tony Lavender, Pro-Vice Chancellor (Research & Knowledge Exchange), Canterbury Christ Church University


Tony Chapman, Vice-Chancellor and Principal, University of Wales Institute, Cardiff / Prifysgol Metropolitan Caerdydd


Neville Ford, Dean of Research, University of Chester


Ian Marshall, Deputy-Vice-Chancellor , University of Coventry


Peter Strike, Vice Chancellor, University of Cumbria


Andy Collop, Director of Research Development, De Montfort University


Paul Bridges, Head of Research, University of Derby


Julie Proud, Research Office Manager, Edge Hill University


Alison McCleery, Director of Research Strategy & Practice, Edinburgh Napier University


Sue Scott, Vice-Principal and Pro Vice-Chancellor, Glasgow Caledonian University


Tom Barnes, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Research & Enterprise, University of Greenwich


John Senior, Pro Vice Chancellor (Research), University of Hertfordshire


Andrew Ball, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research and Enterprise, University of Huddersfield


Penny Sparke, Pro Vice Chancellor (Research & Enterprise), Kingston University


Andrew Slade, Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research and Enterprise), Leeds Metropolitan University


Andrew Atherton, Senior Deputy Vice Chancellor, (Research, Innovation & Enterprise), University of Lincoln


Paul Lister, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Development), London Metropolitan University


Prof David Raper, Director of the Dalton Research Institute, Manchester Metropolitan University


Waqar Ahmad, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research and Enterprise, Middlesex University


Yahya Al-Nakeeb, Director of Research, Newman University College, Birmingham


Hefin Rowlands, Director, Research and Enterprise / Cyfarwyddwr Ymchwil a Menter, University of Wales, Newport / Prifysgol Cymru, Casnewydd


Yvonne Barnett, Pro Vice-Chancellor and Head of College – Science, Nottingham Trent University


Professor Alistair Fitt, Pro Vice-Chancellor. Research & Knowledge Transfer, Oxford Brookes University


Mick Fuller, Head of Graduate School (Research & Innovation), University of Plymouth


Peter Robertson, Vice-Principal and Pro-Vice Chancellor (Research & Commercialisation), Robert Gordon University


Mike Smith, Pro-Vice Chancellor Research, Sheffield Hallam University


John Rees, Professor Maritime and Technology Faculty , Southampton Solent University


Sandra Booth, Director, Enterprise and Commercial Development, Staffordshire University


John MacIntyre, Dean of the Faculty of Applied Sciences, University of Sunderland


Cliff Hardcastle, Vice Chancellor and Chief Executive, University of Teesside


Robert Walsh, Director of Research, UCLAN


Alan White, Director of the Graduate School, University of East London


Richard Bond, Assistant Director, Research Business and Administration, University of the West of England


Joelle Fanghanel, Director of the Institute for Teaching, Innovation and Learning, University of West London


Roddy Williamson, Vice Principal (Research & Commercialisation) and Executive Dean of the Faculty of Science & Technology University of the West of Scotland.


Alun Tlusty-Sheen, Director, Research and Enterprise Services, University of Westminster


Ian Oakes, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Research and Enterprise), University of Wolverhampton


John Rule, Deputy Registrar Research, York St John University


If you have comments or questions, or simply need more information and want to contact us please email us on:

or ring our administrator, Dr Helen Rolph, on:

0141 534 3123

Alternatively you can write to us at:

MURG Administrator

2/1, 10 Caird Drive

Glasgow, G11 5DS

You can also follow MURG on Twitter  

Comments are closed.